FIBA World Cup 2023: All you need to know

The 2023 FIBA World Cup involves 32 teams fighting for world cup glory, with the final taking place on 10 September in Manila’s Mall of Asia Arena.

There are right groups comprising of four teams. After the first round, the top two teams will advance to the second which features four groups of four teams. 

In the second round, every team plays against the two teams in their group that they did not face in the first group stage.

The bottom two teams will play classification matches to determine the placings for 17-32.

In addition to deciding the next world champion the World Cup will also hand out the first set of quotas for Paris 2024.

The top two finishing teams from Europe and the Americas and the best-placed teams from Africa, Asia and Oceania will obtain a spot.

Group A fixtures and results

25 August: Angola 67-81 Italy

25 August: Dominican Republic v Philippines

27 August: Italy v Dominican Republic

27 August: Philippines v Angola

29 August: Angola v Dominican Republic

29 August: Philippines v Italy