Real Madrid boss, Carlo Ancelotti fumed at the referee, after he granted a penalty to Girona for a handball in the Los Blancos box.
Ancelotti’s men were one goal up before Girona equalized from the referee’s decision to give a penalty following Marco Asensio’s handball.
This means that Real Madrid has dropped two points, narrowing the gap for string title contenders, Barcelona, who won their match on Saturday.
The Real Madrid manager has spoken of his frustration with the decision, as Los Blancos also lost to Dortmund during the fifth phase of the Champions League group stage, although they are already through to the knockout stages.
Speaking to the media after the match, he said:
“I don’t like to talk about this a lot but today I talk. The first situation is quite clear, it’s not a penalty because he didn’t touch the ball with his hand.”
“I spoke with Asensio and he touched the ball with his chest, it’s true he had the left hand in a strange position, but it covered the body, it didn’t make it bigger.”
“There could have been doubt if it touched it, but simply he didn’t touch the ball with his hand, they invented it.”
Ancelotti’s men draw with Girona means that they have dropped points for the second time in the new season.
Although they maintain their unbeaten run to the new campaign the draw with Girona has reduced Real Madrid’s point gap against Barcelona by just one point.
If they lost or draw any match, Barcelona would be in the first position instead and may go on with the La Liga title at the end of the season.
On Wednesday, Real Madrid would be playing the last phase of their Champions League group stage as they would be hosting Celtic.
If Ancelotti’s men can grab a win, they would finish the group stage as leaders of their group a few weeks before the World Cup.